State Licensure and Certification

Professional Licensure and Certification Disclosure Requirements

Institutions providing distance education are required to provide certain general disclosures for educational programs, regardless of modality, that prepare students for professional licensure. The required information relates to whether or not the educational program meets the requirements for professional licensure in all other states.  Where applicable, an institution must also indicate when such a determination cannot be made. 

Professional licensure and certification requirements may vary state to state. Although Columbia Law School has attempted to provide accurate and timely information by state, this information is subject to change.  Therefore, students should contact the appropriate licensing agency for his or her home state to obtain the most up to date information. 

Columbia Law School's Juris Doctor (JD) Degree program is accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA)

Information regarding state-specific licensure and certification requirements for the JD Degree program is listed below.



State Website


Does the JD Degree Program meet the licensing requirements for the state?
 Yes (Y) or No (N): 

Alaska Y

 Arkansas Y
California Y
Colorado Y
Connecticut Y
Delaware Y
District of Columbia Y
Florida Y
Georgia Y
Hawaii Y
Idaho Y
Illinois Y
Indiana Y
Iowa Y
Kansas Y
Kentucky Y
Louisiana Y
Maine Y
Maryland Y
Massachusetts Y
Michigan Y
Minnesota Y
Mississippi Y
Missouri Y
Montana Y
Nebraska Y
Nevada Y
New Hampshire Y
New Jersey Y
New Mexico Y
New York Y
North Carolina Y
North Dakota Y
Ohio Y
Oklahoma Y
Oregon Y
Pennsylvania Y
Rhode Island Y
South Carolina Y
South Dakota Y
Tennessee Y
Texas Y
Utah Y
Vermont Y
Virginia Y
Washington Y
West Virginia Y
Wisconsin Y
Wyoming Y
Guam Y
Northern Mariana Islands Y
Palau Y
Puerto Rico Y
Virgin Islands Y


Date of Last Revision: June 2020