Three from Class of 2010 Named Sharp Scholars

Press contact:
James O’Neill
Cell: 646-596-2935
December 3, 2007 (NEW YORK) – Columbia Law School has named three members of the Class of 2010 as Peter Jay Sharp Scholars, one of the Law School's most generous and competitive honors. The award, created in 2003, covers the students' tuition and living expenses for up to $50,000 a year during the scholars' three years in law school. The winners are Daniel Bryan, Deryn Dobson and Carrie Lebigre.
Daniel Bryan is a 2005 graduate of Dartmouth College, where he majored in environmental studies. An experienced computer systems user, Bryan plans to use his background in technology to pursue a legal career in the technology field.
Deryn Dobson is a graduate of The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. She has worked as a senior analyst at Cornerstone research in New York City, and plans to use her strong background in finance and economics to pursue a career in private sector law.
Carrie Lebigre received a bachelor’s degree in Italian from Columbia College in 2003. She has worked since graduation as a freelance writer and producer for public television, and has been an adjunct lecturer at City College. She intends to use her arts background to pursue a career in publishing, arts and intellectual property law.
Open to all admitted students, Peter Jay Sharp scholarship criteria selection includes high academic performance, previous work experience in the private sector and an expressed interest in and commitment to continuing a career in private sector law.
The scholarship was created in memory of the late hotelier and real estate developer Peter Jay Sharp. Mr. Sharp, who died in 1992, was an active philanthropist, serving on the boards of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Juilliard School and Lincoln Center, among others. Since its creation in 1984, The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation has donated millions of dollars to cultural and educational institutions. Columbia Law School alum  Edmund Duffy '66 is one of the Foundation's four board members.