Ronald J. Gilson Wins Top Prize in ECGI’s Working Paper Series

Gilson’s paper praised as a “masterful review of 50 years of legal and finance scholarship on corporate governance.”

Ronald J. Gilson, the Marc and Eva Stern Professor of Law and Business, was recently awarded the 2017 Allen & Overy Prize for the Best Paper in the European Corporate Governance Institute’s Law Working Paper Series. Gilson received the award at the organization’s annual Working Paper Prize-Giving Ceremony, held April 28 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Gilson’s winning paper, “From Corporate Law to Corporate Governance,” is a contribution to the forthcoming Oxford Handbook of Corporate Law and Governance (Oxford University Press, 2018), edited by Jeffery N. Gordon, the Richard Paul Richman Professor of Law, and Wolf-Georg Ringe, a professor of law at the University of Hamburg. The paper traces the evolution of corporate law to corporate governance, which “reflects a move from a simple legal view of the corporation to one that has become increasingly complex and dynamic, responding to the increased complexity and dynamics of the capital, input and product markets that corporations inhabit.”

“The paper is a masterful review of 50 years of legal and finance scholarship on corporate governance,” said Oxford University Law School Professor Luca Enriques, who served as editor of the ECGI Law Working Paper Series, at the awards ceremony. “Which at the same time—building on Professor Gilson’s own influential work in the area—provides a complete and thoughtful picture of what corporate governance in its various interdisciplinary dimensions is and why it matters in today’s business world.”

Founded in 2002, the ECGI is an international scientific nonprofit association that provides a forum for debate and dialogue between academics, legislators, and practitioners, focusing on major corporate governance issues. Allen & Overy is an international legal practice with approximately 5,000 people, including some 525 partners, working in 43 offices worldwide. The monetary portion of the Law Series prize totals €5,000.

The competition jury included: Enriques; John F. Cogan Jr., Professor of Law and Economics at Harvard Law School; Paul Davies, emeritus fellow and formerly the Allen & Overy Professor of Corporate Law at Jesus College, University of Oxford; Dr. Horst Eidenmüller, Statutory Chair for Commercial Law at the University of Oxford; Amir Licht, Dean and Professor of Law at Radzyner School of Law, Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya; and Roberta Romano, the Sterling Professor of Law and director of the Center for the Study of Corporate Law at Yale Law School.


Posted on May 4, 2017