Prizes for 2007-08 Year Announced for Continuing Students


Press Contact: Sonia von Gutfeld, 212-854-1453, [email protected]

July 15, 2008 (NEW YORK) -- The following prizes are awarded to continuing students for their excellent achievements during the 2007-08 academic year (unless otherwise indicated). This announcement follows the graduation announcement of prize winners from the Class of 2008.

Charles Bathgate Beck Prize, awarded annually to the student(s) submitting the best examination paper in the course relating to the law of real property:
Jesse M. Creed ’10

John Power Hely ’10

Jeong M. Oh ’10

William N. Price ’11

Class of 1912 Prize, awarded annually to the first-year student most proficient in the subject of contracts:
Deryn J. Dobson ’10

Archie O. Dawson Prize, awarded annually for proficiency in advocacy:
Karen W. Lin ’09

Haft Foundation Moot Court First-Year Brief Prize, awarded to the first-year student who submits the best brief in Moot Court competition:
Kami M. Lizarraga ’09 (for the 2006-07 academic year) 2007-08 Prize to be announced in fall 2008

Paul R. Hays Prize, awarded annually to an outstanding first-year student in civil procedure:
Matthew Guarnieri ’10

Xiao Zhu ’10

Richard J. Lipson and Paul S. Lipson Prize, awarded annually to two first-year law students showing the greatest proficiency in the subject of contracts:
John C. Fitzpatrick ’10

Stephen F. Hayes ’10

Simon H. Rifkind Prize, awarded for the best overall performance in the first-year moot court program at ColumbiaLawSchool:
James W. Carlson ’09 (for the 2006-07 academic year)
Erica L. Finkle ’09 (for the 2006-07 academic year)
2007-08 Prize to be announced in fall 2008

Young B. Smith Prize, awarded annually to the first-year student most proficient in the law of torts:
Johan R. Abraham ’10

Robert Noxon Toppan, awarded annually to the student(s) in the School of Law who submit the best written examination to the professor of Constitutional Law, based on regulations established by the Faculty of Law:
Esha Bhandari ’10

Jesse M. Creed ’10

Jennifer B. Sokoler ’10

Jeffrey Williams Memorial Prize for Critical Rights Analysis, awarded annually to the student who writes the best paper in critical theory:
Sarah A. Hinger ’09



Harold Brown Book Prize, awarded annually, for the purchase of books, to two or more first-year students who attended ColumbiaCollege:

Timothy J. Carter ’10

Kevin J. Saponaro ’10

Irell and Manella Prize, awarded annually to a first year law student who demonstrates outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and good citizenship within the community. In addition, the Prize equally funds a student organization at ColumbiaLawSchool, chosen by the Prize recipient, to support that organization’s activities, as well as the Dean’s Discretionary Fund for purposes consistent with the objectives of the Prize, such as supporting special funding needs of student activities and organizations.

To be announced