Columbia Arbitration Moot Court Team Earns High Honors

Press Contact: Sonia von Gutfeld, 212-854-1453, [email protected]

March 27, 2008 – Columbia Law School earned several awards at the 2008 Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot competitions this month. Columbia sent teams for the first time to both the Vienna and Hong Kong competitions.

The Hong Kong team was awarded two honorable mentions: one for the Eric Bergsten Award for best claimant’s memorandum, and one for the Fali Nariman Award for best respondent’s memorandum.

Teammates Esha Bhandari ’10 and Armand Terrien ’10 earned Columbia 18th place overall among more than 50 schools. Bhandari also won honorable mention in the Neil Kaplan Award for best oralist.

The Vienna team was awarded honorable mention in the Pieter Sanders Award for best claimant’s memorandum. Teammates David Quartner ’10, Cameron Van Tassell ’09 and Gary Li ’08 represented Columbia, advancing to elimination rounds for the top 64 teams out of more than 200 schools from more than 50 countries. Li also won honorable mention in the Martin Domke Award for best oralist.

The prestigious Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot aims to foster the study of international commercial law and arbitration for resolution of international business disputes. This year marked the 15th annual competition in Vienna, Austria, and the 5th annual sister competition in Hong Kong.

Columbia Law School's Moot Court Program is made possible by the generous support of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP.

Columbia Law School, founded in 1858, stands at the forefront of legal education and of the law in a global society. Columbia Law School joins traditional strengths in international and comparative law, constitutional law, administrative law, business law and human rights law with pioneering work in the areas of intellectual property, digital technology, sexuality and gender, and criminal law.