ACS Moot Court Qualifiers Announced

NEW YORK, NY (February 16, 2006) -- Columbia Law School is pleased to announce its qualifying teams for the American Constitution Society's first annual Constance Baker Motley National Moot Court Competition in Constitutional Law. Qualifying teams will compete in the national competition, to be held at Columbia Law School on March 4-5, 2006.

The qualifying teams from Columbia Law School are:

Cuauhtemoc Ortega '07 & Leanne Wilson '07
Jim Doggett '08 & Adam Pulver '08
Craig Boneau '08 & Nina Yadava '08
Tim Abbott '08 & Michelle Rutherford '08
Gaurav Reddy '08 & Kim Strawbridge '08

The topic for the first national competition will be felon disfranchisement. Teams of two will argue a minimum of three preliminary rounds on Saturday, and eight teams will advance to elimination rounds on Sunday. Note that while teams will write either a petitioner or a respondent brief, each team will argue both sides at the competition.

Awards will include best brief (on both sides) and best oral advocacy. The two finalist teams will travel to the ACS National Convention in Washington, D.C. to compete for the national championship on Thursday, June 15, 2006. The winning team will receive a $3,000 prize, and the runner-up team will receive $1,000. More information about the national competition is available on the web at or by contacting Mary Kelly Persyn '07, Columbia ACS president, at [email protected].

# # #