Center for Public Research and Leadership Lemann Scholar Award

The Center for Public Research and Leadership (CPRL) at Columbia University is charting new pathways to creating meaningful systemic social change while cultivating future professional leaders. CPRL is both a semester-long interdisciplinary graduate program and a student-staffed consultancy. The Lemann Scholar Award is designed for students who wish to work in Brazil in a  government or nonprofit position connected to the P-12 education sector.  


  • Guided by experienced lawyers and managers, student teams provide professional services to state departments of education, school districts, educational advocacy and support organizations, and philanthropies in the U.S. and in Brazil.  
  • CPRL students explore how to foster transformational change in public education by expanding access to high-quality, culturally responsive, and racially and socially integrated public schools. 
  • CPRL students learn to create significant, lasting change in complex organizations.
  • CPRL alumni have gone on to continue this work in key positions in both the public and private sectors.


  • CPRL offers a small number of tuition support awards, funded by the Lemann Foundation, to students who demonstrate exceptional merit and need. 
  • Students must make a legally enforceable commitment to work in Brazil for three of their first five years after graduation in a full-time government or nonprofit job connected to the P-12 education sector. 
  • Students can apply to be awarded up to $30,000, or the amount of tuition and fees owed for the semester in which they participate in CPRL—whichever is lower.


  • Submit a complete application for admission to the LL.M. Program. 
  • Indicate that you are applying by selecting “yes” to the CPRL Lemann Scholar Award question on the Financial Aid section of the online LSAC application for admission.
  • Attach a "Financial Aid Essay" (maximum 500 words) addressing the reason(s) in support of your candidacy for the CPRL Lemann Scholar Award.