Top Honors for Columbia at Commercial Arbitration Moot

We proudly announce that Columbia's team received the most honors of any team competing at the 13th Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot.

Competing for six days in Vienna among 156 teams and nearly 1000 students from around the world, Columbia advanced to semifinals of the team oral arguments and earned awards in every category:

  • 3rd place team in the oral argument tournament
  • 1st place for Claimant's Memorandum
  • Honorable Mention for Respondent's Memorandum (one of 10 honorable mentions out of 156 entries)
  • Individual Honorable Mentions for "Outstanding Oral Advocacy" for: Lorraine de Germiny & Christina Cathey Schutz.

Please join us in congratulating team members Zuzana Blazek, Joseph Brubaker, Lorraine de Germiny, Gary Li, Christina Cathey Schutz and Amanda Wetzel, as well as alumni coaches and former Columbia team members Joshua Karton and Patrick W. Pearsall.

In addition, this achievement would not have been possible without the invaluable support and advice of Professors George A. Bermann, Hans Smit, and Alejandro M. Garro, as well as Deans Schizer and Greenberg-Kobrin and the Office of Student Services. Thanks also go to Elizabeth Cooper, Prof. Edward R. Morrison and the many JD and LLM students who helped the team prepare by arbitrating at practice rounds.

The Vis International Arbitration Moot is the largest and most prestigious International Private Law mooting competition in the world. It is organized by the Institute of International Commercial Law at Pace University and hosted every year by the University of Vienna Faculty of Law. In addition, the Moot is sponsored by many of the world's foremost arbitration and commercial institutions. Furthermore, it is attended every year by many of the world's most renowned arbitration practitioners and scholars, who arbitrate at competition rounds and speak at the variety of arbitration-related conferences and symposia that are organized in Vienna to coincide with the Moot.

Additional information about the Vis Moot, including past problems and awards, is available at:

If you have any questions about the Moot or may be interested in trying out for next year's team, please contact Patrick W. Pearsall at [email protected] or Joshua Karton at [email protected].