Professor Peter Strauss Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Public Affairs, 212-854-2650
New York, April 19, 2010Peter L. Strauss, Betts Professor of Law, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the world’s most prestigious honorary societies.
Strauss was among leaders in the humanities, arts, business, nonprofit sector, public affairs, and sciences whose election was announced by the academy Monday. The new fellows were joined by several foreign honorary members.
“I am deeply honored, a feeling rooted both in knowing how important AAAS was to my mentor here, Walter Gellhorn, and in gratitude to the colleagues and others who thought me worthy of joining the Academy,” Strauss said.
Gellhorn ’31, a pioneer in the study of modern law, taught at the Law School for 42 years, and was a previous Betts Professor of Law. He was an influential thinker in administrative law, a field where Strauss has long been regarded as a preeminent authority on such issues as rulemaking, statutory interpretation, and separation of powers.
Strauss, who also teaches Legal Methods and Legislation, has been on the faculty since 1971. He has also served twice as Vice Dean. In addition to his classes, Strauss also serves on the boards of the Law School’s Public Interest Law Foundation and the Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction.
For a complete list of the Academy’s new members, click here.
Established in 1780 by John Adams and John Hancock, among others, the academy is a center for independent policy research that undertakes multi-disciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems.
Columbia Law School, founded in 1858, stands at the forefront of legal education and of the law in a global society. Columbia Law School joins its traditional strengths in international and comparative law, constitutional law, administrative law, business law and human rights law with pioneering work in the areas of intellectual property, digital technology, sexuality and gender, criminal, national security, and environmental law.