May Prize Recipients

Prizes are awarded to the following students for their excellent achievements.

David Berger Memorial Prize, given to a third-year student who has demonstrated educational excellence in the field of international law:

Elyse Michelle Freeman

E.B. Convers Prize, awarded annually to the member of the graduating class who writes the best original essay on a legal subject:

Katherine Anne

Wilhelm Archie O. Dawson Prize,awarded annually for proficiency in advocacy:

Sara Barclay Davidson

Wilfred Feinberg Prize, awarded to the Law student who does the best work in an area related to the work of federal courts.

Molly Knopp Biklin

Alfred A. Forsyth Prize, awarded annually to an outstanding student in the field of environmental law who, in the judgement of the School, has demonstrated qualities of intellect and selfless dedication to the advancement of environmental law:

Stuart Charles Naifeh
Jason H. Wilson

Andrew D. Fried Prize, awarded for the best student essay to be published this year in Columbia Journal of Law and the Arts on a subject in the field of intellectual property and related law:

Paul Senft Gutman
Alexandra Denise Minkovich

Walter Gellhorn Prize, awarded annually to an LL.M. degree candidate for outstanding proficiency in legal studies:

Christian Henrik Mensching

Carroll G. Harper Prize, awarded to the member of the graduating class who has attained the highest standards of achievement in intellectual property studies and writing at the law school:

Caroline Bennett-Boehm
Cathleen Remsen Ellis Stadecker
Amy R. Terry

Pauline Berman Heller Prize, awarded annually to the highest ranked graduating female law student Pauline Berman Heller Prize was revised in 2011. Viewers can see the revised description here:

Sally Spencer Pritchard

Jerome Michael Jury Cup, awarded for the best trial advocacy:

Alison Wilkey

Jane Marks Murphy Prize, awarded annually to the students who display exceptional interest and proficiency in advocacy in clinical offerings, and who give promise of a professional career, applying the highest standards of the lawyer's craft to service of the public interest:

Sara Barclay Davidson
Melissa Louise Garcia
Sarah Kunstler
Ji Seon Song

John Ordronaux Prize, awarded annually to the J.D. degree candidate for general proficiency in legal study:

Scott Payne Martin

Samuel I. Rosenman Prize, awarded to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence in public law courses and outstanding qualities and leadership in the Law School, or activities related to the Law School in the University community.

Ann M. Ochsendorf

Emil Schlesinger Labor Prize, awarded annually to the student most proficient in the study of labor law:

Ann M. Ochsendorf

Whitney North Seymour Medal, awarded annually to the students who, in the judgement of the instructors in trial advocacy, show the greatest promise of becoming distinguished trial advocates:

Elizabeth Jean Mackay
Melissa Ann Magliana

Valentin J.T. Wertheimer Prize, awarded annually to a Law School student whose work demonstrates the most creative, thoughtful approach to labor law, equal employment law, public or private sector collective bargaining, labor conflict resolution, or employment security:

Jason Parkin


Charles Bathgate Beck Prize, awarded annually to a second-year student submitting the best examination paper in the course relating to the law of real property:

Michael Paisner
Bryan Pate
(Class of 2005)

Lawrence S. Greenbaum Prize, awarded annually to the student who, in the opinion of the judges has made the best oral presentation in the final argument of the Harlan Fiske Stone Moot Court Competition:

Jason Hernandez (Class of 2005)

Haft Foundation Moot Court Prize, awarded for the best first year Moot Court Brief:

Meghan H. Sullivan

Simon H. Rifkind Prize, awarded for the best overall performance in the first year moot court program at Columbia Law School:

Philip A. Fortino

Robert Noxan Toppan: Awarded annually to the student in the School of Law who submits the best written examination to the professor of Constitutional Law, based on regulations established by the Faculty of Law:

Dimple Chaudhary
Stephen P. Hanmer
Richard A. Kaplan
Bryan L. Pate


Class of 1912 Prize, Contracts, awarded annually to the first-year student most proficient in the subject of contracts:

Robert J. Bickel
Robert Reed Carey
Benjamin M. Greenblum

Paul R. Hays Prize, Civil Procedure, awarded to the the outstanding first-year student in the Civil Procedure course:

Daniel Backenroth
Yuan Sun

Young B. Smith Prize, awarded for excellence in Torts:

Matthew Hawkinson
Alan Lewis
Arie Rubenstein
Zahr Stauffer