55th Annual Winter Luncheon

- Professor and Washington Lawyer to be Jointly Honored at
55th Annual Winter Luncheon -

New York, NY, January 2004 -- Professor E. Allan Farnsworth '52, Alfred McCormack Professor of Law, Columbia Law School, and Stanley L. Temko '43, Senior Counsel, Covington & Burling, will receive the Columbia Law School Association's Medal for Excellence at the 55th Annual Winter Luncheon, to be held Friday, January 23, 2004 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.  Columbia Law School Dean David W. Leebron will provide opening remarks. 
Professor Farnsworth, who has been a member of the Law School faculty for nearly 50 years, is widely regarded as an authority on contract law having written and published numerous articles and books.  He is Reporter for Restatement (Second) of Contracts and the author of Cases and Materials on Commercial Law (with Honnald, Harris, Mooney and Reitz, 1993) and Cases and Materials on Contracts (with Young and Sanger, 2001), two of the most widely used casebooks in contracts and commercial law. 

Prof. Farnsworth was educated at the University of Michigan, Yale University, and Columbia, and holds degrees in mathematics, physics, and law.  He has served on law faculties around the world and has been a member of the Columbia Law School faculty since 1954.  In 1970 he was appointed the Alfred McCormack Professor of Law.  Prof. Farnsworth has served as a member of the U.S. Secretary of State's Advisory Committee on Private International Law, was the U.S. representative with the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (1970 to 1980), and has represented the U.S. at various diplomatic conferences.

Prof. Farnsworth will be introduced by his daughter Karen Farnsworth Einsidler, a 1981 graduate of Columbia Law School.  

The co-recipient for this year's Medal for Excellence is Stanley L. Temko '43, a widely respected Washington D.C. lawyer who practices food and drug law, trade association counseling, regulatory law, and antitrust.  Mr. Temko has practiced at Covington & Burling for over 50 years, and served as chair of its Management Committee.   

According to peers, "generations of younger lawyers in Washington have aspired to emulate his legal career and the example he has set for the quality of his lawyering, for the breadth of his skills and for his dedication to his clients."

During his career, Mr. Temko has represented clients in Congressional hearings and other legislative matters, before the federal courts and governmental regulatory agencies.  He has participated in a number of important U.S. Supreme Court matters including The Steel Seizure Case (Youngstown v. Sawyer).  Additionally, Mr. Temko has served on various Bar committees, as Chairman of the Research Committee of the American Bar Foundation, and is a life member of the American Law Institute. 

Mr. Temko, who graduated from both Columbia College and Columbia Law School, has maintained a strong and committed relationship with his alma mater over the years.  He served as a trustee of Columbia University and is now a trustee emeritus.  The Hon. Wilfred Feinberg '43 will introduce Mr. Temko.

The Medal for Excellence is awarded to alumni/ae or faculty members whose professional accomplishments reflect the qualities of character, intellect, and social and professional responsibility that the Columbia Law School nurtures.  Previous winners include U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Professor Louis Henkin, Federal District Court Judge Jack B. Weinstein, former U.S. District Attorney Mary Jo White, and Columbia University President Lee C. Bollinger '71.

# # #