2005 Student Prizes



John Ordronaux Prize, awarded annually to J.D. degree candidate(s) for general proficiency in legal study. The prize usually recognizes the student(s) achieving the highest academic average in each graduating class:

Michael S. Paisner ‘05
Joshua I. Wilkenfeld ‘05

Pauline Berman Heller Prize, awarded annually to the highest ranked graduating female law student (J.D.):

Amy M. Mulzer ‘05

Walter Gellhorn Prize, awarded annually to an LL.M. degree candidate graduating with the highest academic average, for outstanding proficiency in legal study:

Ozbej Merc ‘05 LL.M.


Charles Bathgate Beck Prize, awarded annually to the student(s) submitting the best examination paper in the course relating to the law of real property:

Bela S. Resnicoff ‘06
Jodie A. Kirshner ‘06

David Berger Memorial Prize, given to a third-year student interested in international law and world peace, and who has demonstrated educational excellence in the field of international law:

James N. Boeving ‘05
Saira Mohamed ‘05

Harold Brown Book Prize, awarded annually, for the purchase of books, to two or more first-year students who attended Columbia College:

John G. Mateus ‘07
Eric Requenez ‘07

Class of 1912 Prize, awarded annually to the first-year student most proficient in the subject of contracts:

Matthew J. Dunne ‘07

Milton B. Conford Book Prize in Jurisprudence, awarded annually to the student who writes the best examination paper or essay on jurisprudence:

Eric L. Shen ‘05

E.B. Convers Prize, awarded annually to the member of the graduating class who writes the best original essay on a legal subject:

Meghann E. Donahue ‘05

Archie O. Dawson Prize, awarded annually for proficiency in advocacy:

Philip A. Fortino ‘05

Wilfred Feinberg Prize, awarded to the Law student who does the best work in an area related to the work of the federal courts:

Meghann E. Donahue ‘05

Alfred A. Forsyth Prize, awarded annually to an outstanding student in the field of environmental law who, in the judgment of the School, has demonstrated qualities of intellect and selfless dedication to the advancement of environmental law:

Dimple Chaudhary ‘05
Vivian R. Mills ‘06

Andrew D. Fried Memorial Prize, awarded for the best student essay to be published this year in the Columbia Journal of Law and the Arts on a subject in the field of intellectual property and related law:

Marvin (Brad) Bedingfield ‘05
"Copyrighting Medieval Literature: Editing and Publishing the Pre-Modern Public Domain"

Lawrence S. Greenbaum Prize, awarded annually to the student who, in the opinion of the judges, has made the best oral presentation in the final argument of the Harlan Fiske Stone Moot Court Competition:

Craig R. Bucki ‘06

Haft Foundation Moot Court First-Year Brief Prize, awarded to the first-year student who submits the best brief in Moot Court competition:

Scott M. Reiber ‘06 (for 2003-04 academic year)

Carroll G. Harper Prize, awarded to the member of the graduating class who has attained the highest standards of achievement in intellectual property studies and writing:

Matthew J. Bacal ‘05
Michael S. Bogner ‘05
Julia Fisherman ‘05

Paul R. Hays Prize, awarded annually to an outstanding first-year student in civil procedure:

David E. Crowley ‘07
Philip A. Scarborough ‘07
Adam C. Weiss ‘07

Richard J. Lipson and Paul S. Lipson Prize, awarded annually to two first-year law students showing the greatest proficiency in the subject of contracts:

Douglas D. Geyser ‘07
Andrew D. Lanoha ‘07

Jerome Michael Jury Cup, awarded for the best trial advocacy:

Rachel L. Kay ‘06

Jane Marks Murphy Prize, awarded annually to the students who display exceptional interest and proficiency in advocacy in clinical offerings, and who give promise of a professional career, applying the highest standards of the lawyer's craft to service of the public interest:

Yani Indrajana ‘05
Jonathan B. Miller ‘05
Margaret D. Williams ‘05

Outstanding Student Award, presented by the Clinical Legal Education Association to a student nominated by the faculty of Columbia Law School for excellence in clinical fieldwork based on the high quality of representation provided clients and for outstanding participation in an accompanying clinical seminar as determined by exemplary thoughtfulness and self reflectiveness in exploring pertinent legal and lawyering issues:

Matthew E. Hoffman ‘05
Juliette V. Riviere ‘06
Anna E. Wagner ‘06

Simon H. Rifkind Prize, awarded for the best overall performance in the first-year moot court program at Columbia Law School:

John M. Tanski ‘06 (for 2003-04 academic year)

Samuel I. Rosenman Prize, awarded to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence in public law courses and outstanding qualities and leadership in the Law School, or activities related to the Law School in the University community.

Julia Willdorf Campins ‘05

Emil Schlesinger Labor Prize, awarded annually to the student most proficient in the study of labor law:

Richard A. Kaplan ‘05

Whitney North Seymour Medal, awarded annually to the student who, in the judgment of the instructors in trial advocacy, shows the greatest promise of becoming a distinguished trial advocate:

Viren M. Mascarenhas ‘05

Young B. Smith Prize, awarded annually to the first-year student most proficient in the law of torts:

Aaron D. Cohen ‘07
Douglas D. Geyser ‘07

Robert Noxon Toppan, awarded annually to the student in the School of Law who submits the best written examination to the professor of Constitutional Law, based on regulations established by the Faculty of Law:

Muneeza Aumir ‘06 (for 2003-04 academic year)

Valentin J.T. Wertheimer Prize, awarded annually to a Law School student whose work demonstrates the most creative, thoughtful approach to labor law, equal employment law, public or private sector collective bargaining, labor conflict resolution, or employment security:

Abdallah W. Simaika ‘05
"The Value of Information: Alternatives to Liability in Influencing Corporate Behavior Overseas"