Human Rights Institute Lunch Talk: Cultural Rights and Human Rights: Questioning Protection

Tuesday, October 22nd, 2019 @ 12:10pm to 1:10pm
Jerome Greene Hall, Room 105
Oct 22
Tuesday, October 22nd, 2019 @ 12:10pm to 1:10pm
Jerome Greene Hall, Room 105

Speaker: Elsa Stamatopoulou, Former Chief of the Secretariat of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues; Director, Indigenous Peoples' Rights Program, Institute for the Study of Human Rights, Columbia University.

Elsa Stamatopoulou's pioneering book Cultural Rights in International Law explores international protections of cultural rights. In her former role as the Chief of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues and current one as the Director of the Institute for the Study of Human Rights' Indigenous Peoples' Rights Program, she is an advocate of the protection of cultural rights and of putting concerned communities in the driving seat on this issue. In this talk, she will discuss historical shifts and current developments in the protection of cultural rights internationally, while reflecting on the scope and contemporary reasons behind the existence, or lack thereof, of international protections of cultural rights.

This event is co-sponsored by Columbia Law School's Human Rights Institute and the Institute for the Study of Human Rights.

All are welcome and lunch will be provided.

Upcoming Events

  • Jan22
  • Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Mar 11 2020 .
    Jan22
  • Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday until Tue Mar 03 2020 except Mon Jan 27 2020, Thu Feb 13 2020, Mon Feb 17 2020, Wed Feb 19 2020, Thu Feb 20 2020, Mon Mar 02 2020. Also includes Mon Feb 03 2020, Mon Feb 10 2020, Mon Feb 24 2020, Wed Mar 11 2020, Tue Mar 24 2020, Wed Mar 25 2020.
    Jan22