Alert: All classes for the remainder of the semester will be conducted virtually, and faculty and staff are working remotely until further notice. Given widespread community transmission of COVID-19 in New York City, everyone must observe crucial measures to prevent the virus from spreading further.

Meet the Recipients of the 2020 Medal for Excellence

Jim Millstein ’82 and Franklin A. Thomas ’63 receive the honor on February 28.

The Medal for Excellence, Columbia Law School’s most prestigious award, is presented annually to alumni and past or present faculty members who exemplify the qualities of character, intellect, and social and professional responsibility that the Law School seeks to instill in its students. 

Franklin A. Thomas CC ’56, LAW ’63, consultant, the Study Group, and former president and CEO of the Ford Foundation, and Jim Millstein ’82, co-chairman of Guggenheim Securities, will be honored for their achievements and service to the Law School. Gillian Lester, Dean and the Lucy G. Moses Professor of Law, will present the award to these distinguished alumni at the 71st Annual Winter Luncheon at Cipriani 42nd Street.​

Learn more about the recipients:

Jim Millstein ’82 Franklin A. Thomas ’63











Jim Millstein ’82: A Private and Public Career 

Franklin A. Thomas ’63: A Lifetime of Leading Change


Published February 13, 2020

Back to latest news at Columbia Law